Sunday, February 1, 2009

We are proud to report that Graduate Student Qin Wang has been selected to receive an Institute of Mathematical Statistics Laha Travel Award to attend the 2009 Joint Statistical Meetings/IMS annual meeting. Congratulations Qin!

Monday, October 6, 2008

We are happy to report that Chris Franklin has been selected to enter the UGA Teaching Academy with the class of 2008. Congratulations!

Tuesday, August 19, 2008

Congratulations to Lynne Billard for winning the 2008 Elizabeth L. Scott Award from the Committee of Presidents of Statistical Societies. This award, given every other year to only one winner, recognizes exemplary efforts to further the careers of women in academia. The citation reads: "For encouraging women Statisticians as they embarked on their careers and mentoring women as they advanced; For excellent leadership to the profession, serving as a role model to the next generation of women and men in Statistics; And for conducting and publishing studies to understand and end gender-based inequities in Statistics."

Sunday, August 3, 2008

Congratulations to Ming-Hung (Jason) Kao for being the recipient of one of the awards in the 2008 ASA Statistical Computing/Statistical Graphics Sections paper competition. The award is for the paper "Multi-objective Optimal Experimental Designs for Event-Related fMRI Studies," co-authored by Drs. Mandal, Lazar and Stufken, which will be presented by Jason at a special topic contributed session with the other winners at the 2008 Joint Statistical Meetings in Denver, Colorado, August 3-7, 2008.

Tuesday, July 15, 2008

Replacing Jesse will be Jimmy Cretney who is promoted to the IT Manager position. Jimmy has also been with us for several years, and we welcome his continued skill and familiarity with our department. Congratulations Jimmy!