Nicole Lazar Receives M.G. Michael Award

Monday, January 1, 2007

Congratulations to Nicole Lazar, who won the 2007 M.G. Michael Award in the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences for innovative research.

Gauri Datta Named Fellow of the American Statistical Association

Monday, January 1, 2007

Gauri S. Datta was named Fellow of the American Statistical Association on August 8, 2006, during the annual awards ceremony at the Joint Statistical Meetings in Seattle, Washington. Datta earned a Bachelor's degree at Calcutta University in 1983, a Master's degree at Calcutta University in 1985, and a Doctorate at the University of Florida in 1990. He joined the American Statistical Association in 1991. The official Fellow award citation reads as follows: "Gauri S. Datta, Professor of Statistics, University of Georgia: For innovative contributions to the theory of small-area estimation, objective Bayesian inference, and asymptotic theory; and for substantive contributions to the methodology of statistics at the U.S. Census Bureau and the Bureau of Labor Statistics."

Welcome New Faculty Members, Jeongyoun Ahn and Yehua Li

Monday, January 1, 2007

The Department was successful and fortunate in attracting two excellent new faculty members. We are delighted to welcome Jeongyoun Ahn and Yehua Li, who have both started their position as Assistant Professor in August of 2006. Jeongyoun received her PhD in 2006 from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, where she worked under the supervision of Steve Marron. Yehua, also a 2006 PhD recipient, joined us from Texas A&M University where he worked under the supervision of Ray Carroll and Tailen Hsing.