Two Teams from Department of Statistics Place Highly in the 2016 SAS Shootout!

Wednesday, August 3, 2016

For the third year in a row, student groups from the Department of Statistics have earned high recognition at the SAS Analytics Shootout. This year, a team captained by Rich Ross and advised by Dr. Dan Hall has placed in the top three and is still in the running for first place. A second team, captained by XianYan Chen and advised by Dr. Jaxk Reeves earned an Honorable Mention. We are so proud of all who participated in the competition and congratulate them for their outstanding performance! The final results will be announced during the SAS Analytics Experience 2016, in September of this year. 

Team Rosters Include:

Rich Ross (Captain), Yaotong Cai, Chunla He, Shiyu Ye, and Wenhao Pan. Advised by Dr. Dan Hall.

XianYan Chen (Captain), Yan Du, Xiaodong Jiang, Huizhe Jin, Yang Song, Weifeng Wang, Yan Wang, and Wei Zhang. Advised by Dr. Jaxk Reeves. 

Please join the department in congratulating these outstanding students and professors! 

Theresa Devasia Awarded Presidential Award of Excellence

Monday, May 9, 2016


Theresa Devasia was nominated by the Statistics Department for the Presidential Award of Excellence. This award recognizes high-achieving students in each college and school. Shortly after her nomination, she received a letter informing her that she was selected as an awardee and invited to the Honor's Day Luncheon. Before lunch, she was able to meet President Morehead, and received a special cord to be worn at graduation. She is very happy to represent the Department of Statistics, and honored to have been recognized for her achievements.

Please join me in congratulating Theresa for all her hard work! 

2016 Best Capstone Student Award Winners: John Chamberlin & Cody Pace

Monday, May 2, 2016


Each year, the University of Georgia Department of Statistics awards the Kermit Hutcheson Best Capstone Student Award to an undergraduate student who best exemplifies the standards set by Professor Kermit Hutcheson. The winners of this award are students who consistently demonstrate throughout the year dedication to the Capstone philosophy. For the second consecutive year, the award has resulted in co-winners. The co-winners of the 2016 Capstone Student Award are John Chamberlin and Cody Pace. Congratulations to these two outstanding students on all their hard work!

Statistics Team Advances in the Capital One Contest

Monday, April 11, 2016

Congratulations to Statistics students Xianyan Chen, Xiaodong Jiang, Jerry Shi, and Yang Song, who are one of five finalist teams in the Capital One Contest. The team members, along with advisor Jaxk Reeves, have been invited to Capital One headquarters, where they, along with the four other finalist teams, will present their analysis. The winner will be determined after the team presentations, April 20-22, 2016.

We wish the best of luck with the next stage of the competition! 


Congratulations Mark Werner & Liang Liu!

Thursday, February 18, 2016

The Department of Statistics congratulates Mark Werner on his promotion to Senior Lecturer and Liang Liu on his promotion to Associate Professor with tenure! We are so happy to have these two distinguished academics represent our department. 

Congratulations again!